There are four coins issued by the Bank of Guyana. The denominations are as follows: $100, $10, $5, $1.These  coins were put into circulation on 26th May, 1996




Rice is a staple food in Guyana. Its cultivation is deeply rooted in the country's culture and history


Alloy: Copper-plated steel
Diameter: 17.00mm
Weight: 2.40gms
Shape: Round
Edge: Milled
5 coin
Sugar cane is a principal agricultural crop which contributes significantly to the economy
Alloy: Copper-plated steel
Diameter: 20.50mm
Weight: 3.75gms
Shape: Round
Edge: Milled
10 Coin
A legendary "porknocker" engaged in traditional small-scale mining gold mining.
Alloy: Nickel-plated steel
Diameter: 23.00mm
Weight: 5.00gms
Shape: 7 lobbed
Edge: Alternate Milled/Plain
100 coin
$100 circulating coin struck in multi-ply nickel with the image of the 50th Republic Anniversary Logo in 4 colours.
Alloy: Multi-ply nickel
Diameter: 28.00mm
Weight: 7.00gms
Shape: round
Edge: Milled